Label: Cadenza Records.
Artist: Ernesto Ferreyra.
Title: Some Kind Of Sign (Album)

1. Still Waiting
2. Dr. Moon
3. Cristal Clear
4. Dirty Minds
5. Astral
6. Copina II
7. Underwater Lies
8. Forever Loop
9. The Friend I’ve Lost
10. Hide No More
11. Beluga Dance

Cat no. CADCD14/CADLP14
CD barcode: 827170145429
2LP barcode: 827170564060

Format : CD/2LP/digital

Release date : November 10th 2014

Ernesto Ferreyra’s 2010 debut album for Cadenza, the intricate and balanced “El Paraíso De Las
Tortugas”, was something of a landmark release, not only for the Argentinian DJ and producer, but also
for the minimal electronic dance scene, taking the micro-techno genre out oft he clubs and into a full
length listening experience.

Four years on, and Ernesto has certainly lost none of the magic and spark that made his debut long
player a ‘keeper’. On “Some Kind Of Sign”, we find the producer seriously in his element, with his
production aesthetics at his peak, brimming with ideas, melodies, killer hooks and wonderfully playful
percussion across the eleven tracks. Aiming to go somewhat deeper and darker than his debut album, on
“Some Kind Of Sign” Ernesto endevours to go beyond the obvious and easily cliched elements of an
electronic LP, capturing the world within the spaces, using otherworldly modulars and field recordings to
take the listener to the outer reaches of the album’s very heart and soul.

“Some Kind Of Sign” is an album full of elasticated beats and liquid electronics, every track built around
highly inventive drum programming and micro-samples. Album opener, “Still Waiting”, sets the tone with
bustling, yet understated, percussion, the soaring strings unfurling at the end of each phrase.
It’s a long player filled with colour; “Cristal Clear’ feels like a Middle Eastern travelogue, the track awash
with an almost street scene like ambience, the purposeful percussion really transporting the listener to
another space & time. “Astral” chugs along at almost a skanking pace, the shakers and drum fills keeping
it a dancefloor piece whilst the modular synths bend and worm around the kicks.
On tracks like “Underwater Lies” the synths rain down onto a dubbed out & sultry female vocal, whilst the
propelling electro beat and huge sub-bass carve out a most enjoyable aural (subaquatic) ride.
Ferreyra really shows what he is capable of in the deep melancholy of “The Friend I’ve Lost”, the saddest
of pianos riffs grips your heart and gives it a good tight crush, douses you in reverb and pins you up
against epic, taut strings…releasing you after its two short minutes to get back to the dance on “Hide No
More”. The album closes on “Beluga Dance”, a riotous and infectious space ride, and a fitting end to an album
that most certainly finds Ferreyra stepping up another level with his highly accomplished and polished
original dance music, designed not only for the feet but for the head as well, the true hallmarks of great
electronic music.

Ernesto Ferreyra's "Some Kind Of Sign" LP out Nov. 10th 2014